What a Great Xmas Break!!

SO I know it has been awhile since I have written on this thing...but life has been really, really busy.  Mainly because my friend Lindsay is here and we have been having so much fun together!!  She really loves Sweden and I am so happy she likes it here!!  Maybe she will come and live here!!  That would be SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET!



CHRISTMAS EVE
Ok so know I will try and re-cap the events of the last week!  First it started off with Christmas.  Christmas is celebrated here on the 24th and we spent it with Julia (on my team) and her mother.  During the day, Lindsay, Shannon, Kyle and myself took a walk around Umeå.  It was actually a very nice day!  Latter that evening, we went over to Julia's for a fantastic dinner!  Her mom made some great quich.  One with the Vasterbotten cheese (local cheese made here) and one with olives, feta, and tomates.  Tasted amazing!!  The best was her famous fish soup that left us all in food comas.  It was unbelievably delicious!  After dinner we opened presents!!  I got a brand new coffee mug (which is gigantic!!) and the most exciting thing....a brand new dress for News Years Eve!!!  I love it!!  I got Lindsay some presents that I think she enjoyed or will enjoy.  Some Swedish candle holders, a scarf, some great tea from my favorite local fika place and a shirt.  I think Julia made out the best though!  She recieved a brand new digital camera, some i.d. makeup, and some clothes.  After presents we feasted on some cheese and crackers and a wide variety of fruits!  And not mention ice cream with cloudberries!!  It was a great evening and we didn't make it home until almost 12.30 at night!!  Thanks Julia and Kerstin for a great day, especially during a time when friends and family mean so much to us!!





PRESENTS!!!
  
 


 CHRISTMAS DAY
On Christmas day we decided to take a journey to the Baltic Sea...aka...the ocean (sort of)!!  I'm sitting with Lindsay right now and the first thing she remembers or says, is that it was freezing.  It was really cold but it was also very beautiful!!  Us girls from Colorado think something like that is pretty cool since we are from a land-locked state.  After our little visit out to Holmsund, we went and ate lunch at the hospital which consisted of only meatballs and tiny sausages.  Haha...but seriously!   Later that day we went to IKSU (work-out facility) and worked out.  Julia and I went swimming, went in the hot tub and also did sauna.  I felt very relaxed and comfortable afterwards.  After IKSU, we went and had a fika at Waynes!!  Lindsay's first fika in Sweden which she absolutely loved!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  In the evening, Lindsay made us dinner and we just sat around and watched tv.  A very cozy, relaxing XMAS!!  It was great.  I am so happy and greatful that Lindsay is here because everything just feels so comfortable.





BOXING DAY...ANNANDAGEN (swedish)
The day-after Christmas is kind of a celebrated day here in Sweden.  Well exactly, it's more for the younger generation and it involves shopping and maybe partying later in the night.  So that is exactly what we did!!  I actually can't believe how much shopping we did!  We started at 10:00am...when the stores opened...and last until about 3pm or so.  5 straight hours of shopping.  We did take about a 30 minute fika pause at Schmäck!  My favorite place to fika!!  Then it was back to more shopping.  I bought some new boots that I love, a dress, and a couple nice shirts.  Lindsay purchased the most and I really can't believe how much she got.  It's crazy!!  HAHA!  Then later, we hosted a dinner at our place!  There were 8 of us total and Lindsay (of course) made the entire dinner!  Sophia, Jonas, Mattias, Julia, Shannon, Kyle, Lindsay, and myself were the featured guests!!  Sanna also stopped by for a little bit.  Lindsay made an american meal of chicken with a mushroom sauce on top of brown rice, sweet potatoe fries, and a salad with homemade dressing.  It was great!!  It really turned out to be a great night, and I think it's very special that Lindsay and my swedish friends got along so well!!  I am so happy for that!! 


DECEMBER 27th
Now I am almost caught up...but I do have to write about one more thing that is so exciting!!  Last night, Lindsay and I went out to dinner.  We went to an Indian restaurant called Taj Mahal and it was soooooo good!  After dinner, we went on a walk through the centrum and deceided to go for a fika at Waynes.  As we were walking by the Sandic hotel, we ran into the top 3 contestants of Swedish Idol, including the winner Kevin.  This is pretty exciting here in Sweden!!  Lindsay didn't know who they were, but of course I knew them and their names and I quickly explained to her who they were!!  She then went straight up to them and started to talk to them about American Idol and everything!!  It was pretty funny how we were sitting there having a conversation with th 3 finalst of Swedish Idol.  And Kevin...the winner!! HAHA!!  They shook our hands and we introduced ourselves.  Even got into a conversation about why we were all in Umeå...I told them I played for the Comets.  I guess they have a concert today in town!  But we did the crazy thing and took pictures with them...so everybody can get a look at some famous Swedish celebrities!!  They were very nice and friendly and fun to meet!!



So now I am all caught up to today.  Shannon and I have started a basketball camp for the younger girls in our club.  I did the same thing last year.  So we have camp for 3 hours a day for 4 days total.  We finish up on Tuesday.  Jan 2-5 we will also do another camp for the U16 team and also the U16 boys team!  Lindsay has gone skiing today with our friends Sophia and Jonas.  It's good that they were able to take her since I have a lot of basketball today.  Today also marks our first day back from break with the starting of practice!!  We will have our first practice back tonight for 2 hours.  Anna arrives back from Stockholm also today!!  I can't believe tomorrow is Lindsay's last day here :(  It's really sad.  We have been having SO MUCH fun together!!  Well goodbye for now.  I have to get some work done!  This week has seriously flew by...and I have to get things back in order.  Hope everybody had a great xmas!!!  Love you all!!

GOODBYE!!

Kommentarer
Postat av: Sophia

Long story but I can see that you had a lot of fun ;) And now we are back with Lindsey in one piece :) She did REALLY good and I think that she had a lot of fun, the same as me and Jonas. Kram!

2008-12-28 @ 17:40:05
URL: http://sophiamolin.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0