Closer....Almost!!

So we lost again.  Starting off 0-3 was NOTHING like I imagined.  But I guess if I take the more positive approach with this game, we did play good!  And we are getting closer to winning.  Today I saw our old team back.  We only lost by 7 pts to a solid Luleå team.  A team that beat us by 18pts earlier in the Uman Cup.  The score was 68-61 and we even had the lead by 1 pt going into half-time.  Then they went to zone.   We were absolutely destroying them with our man offense.  We executed our plays so well they were not able to defend us whatsoever.  But we must work on our zone offense or else every team is going to defend us that way this year.

Some positive things can be taken from this game though...

+We ran the ball!  Our transition was great!  We scored a lot off of transition and it was exactly what I told the girls we needed to do.
+Luleå couldn't stop us when we ran our man to man offense.  We executed the plays, let the play develop and got 'our' shots!
+Our defense was great at times!  We pressured early and they had a hard time running their play.
+Half-way through the 2nd quarter and into the 3rd quarter, we went on a 17-1 run!  Which also gave us a 39-38 lead going into half-time.
+The team rose to the challenge today and fought hard!  I saw something in their eyes that we have been missing the last couple of games.
+We stayed positive and fought until the end.
+Anna Österman had 18pts and 10 rebounds....Shannon had 16pts and 3 assists.

A huge plus!  I came back to my old self tonight.  I played hard!  I had 16 pts, 8 rebounds...and the thing I am most proud of is 5 steals.  That means I actually played defense (for once)!  Although the girl I did guard ended up with 22pts.  That isn't very good.  And I KNOW I can get more rebounds!  I think I did a good job of running the floor tonight.  Transition was where I scored most of my points.  It will get better.  I must focus harder on rebounding!!  You can always control your rebounding and defense, so that means it can only get better!

Things we must improve...

!! FREETHROWS...we shot 10-22.  That is horrible.  Friday's practice we are shooting a ton of FT's. 
!! Zone offense...find a way to score when teams play us in zone.
!! Rebounding...that can always get better.
!! Fitting everything together.  Putting the pieces of the puzzle together to complete and finish a game on top! 
!! Win a game.

Well here it is.  You can also view our box score stats at http://www.basket.se/tx.aspx?MatchId=2311700 .  Now we have some time off from playing games because our next game isn't until Nov. 7th at home vs. Stockholm-08.  I think this will be good for us to work on somethings at practice and get it going.  Tonight's game definetly brought confidence back to the girls, so it can only get better!  We will keep on working hard...I am confident and believe strongly in it!

Tomorrow we have the day off.  I think we might go and get a lift in.  Maybe some shopping also :)  And of course a fika!  Looking forward to it!

Godnatt!! 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0