Last Saturday in America for 2009

My dad is responsible for the title of this new log.  Today was a great day spent with my Dad!!  I met my dad in Denver for a day full of fun!!  We met at the Rock Bottom Brewery at the 16th Street Mall.  We had lunch there and enjoyed some people watching.  There were some groups of protestors, including gay activists and animal rights activists that passed our way...but all and all, it was very entertaining.  For those of you who don't know...the 16th Street Mall is located right in downtown Denver.  You know when you see all those tall buildings in a big city, well we were right in the middle of that.  The atmosphere is very unique there, all different types of people, but a great place to walk the street.  The strip includes many shops, different types of restuarants, and street entertainment as well.  It was also a beautiful day today so that made it even better.  There was also an outdoor festival going on as well.  A concert stage was set up with free entertainment.  We watched a live band perform and also an 8 year old prodigy playing the guitar.  It was a nice set-up with tents and drinks to offer.  I sat and enjoyed the music while my dad drank a Blue Moon!

   
Rock Bottom Brewery...Live music concert...beautiful sunny day...Downtown Denver

The 16th Street Mall

After lunch, my dad and I walked down the street and went the Cheesecake Factory!!  Now this place is totally AWESOME and I would recommend it to anyone!!  I don't know what else to say...their cheesecake is to die for!!  We shared a carrot cake cheesecake and the peanut buttle chocolate ripple cheesecake.  SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good!!!  My dad also tried a mojito for the first time!  I know...I should of taken a picture but I was enjoying myself WAY too much to remember. :S

Then my dad and I went to a soccer game at 4.00.  The Jones were in town from Durango and Krista had a soccer match.  Quick history...the Jones family are Eric, Stephanie, Krista and Amanda.  When I was in college at Fort Lewis, Krista and Amanda always attended the basketball camps.  They were small...7 and 9 years old when we first met them.  They formed a pretty good bond with me and my best friend Kellie while we attended college.  We were kind of their role models (yes I know hard to believe).  They kind of became our family away from home.  Kellie and I would come over often for some great home-cooked meals and to spend time with the kids.  NOW these girls older and in high school.  Krista is 17 years old and will be a senior in HS and Amanda is 15 yrs and a sophomore.  I can't believe how old they are now.  So it was kind of fun that they were in Denver for the weekend, because we were able to meet up and spend some time together again.  We went out to eat at Old Chicago, Kellie and her husband Jay came to meet up with us as well.  It's crazy how fast time flys by...


Kellie, Me, Krista and Amanda...Back again!!

  
1. Eric and Stephanie
2. Eric and my dad in a discussion about sports assuming.
3. Jay and my dad enjoying their beers!!

It was a really nice evening and I had such a fantastic time with my dad today.  It's kind of sad, because it was my last day with my dad before I head back.  I can't believe I am leaving in 3 days...OH MY!  THANKS DAD FOR A GREAT DAY!!  I AM GOING TO MISS YOU AND I LOVE YOU A LOT!!  Can't wait to see you in Sweden this year!!  And thanks Jones for a great night!  It was so nice to met up with you and talk about the past.  Those were good times for sure.

Now it is late and I should get to bed.  Kellie's baby shower is tomorrow and that is going to be a lot of fun!!  More friends to spend some time with and give my goodbyes!!  OH and also to celebrate CHARLIE BECKER coming into this world.  I am so sad I am going to miss it, but very thankful I can attend this shower!!

Hope everyone had a great weekend!!

Vi Hörs!!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0