Christmas Time is SO BUSY!

FINALLY a little bit of time to write a post!  Quick re-cap of this past week...

Tuesday 22nd - ROAD TRIP began!!  Pam and I drove up to Jokkmokk (about a 6 hour drive) and spent a lovely evening with Miriam and her family.  Miriam is a friend I met at church.  Her father is American so it was fun to speak some USA talk!!  It started with some home-made pecan pie and then american pancakes for breakfast!  So nice!! 


ROAD TRIP 09!!



Wednesday 23rd - Pam got to see her first reindeer ever when we walked over to Miriam's neighbors and spotted some!  Then from there it was a 3 hour drive up to Jukkasjärvi to the ICE HOTEL!!  Fun times for sure and something really spectacular to see!!  So pretty but let me tell you...IT WAS COLD! 


ABOVE THE ARTIC CIRCLE (220 km above)


SO MUCH ICE!!


Everything made of ice...inside.


Our room we slept in...-5 degrees.  (23 F)


That night we went to a Suami traditional event...got to eat some typical Lapplandish food (including reindeer tongue), Joking (singing) and see the current Suami clothing.  It was a fun experience!


Ice hotel in the day time...a little light for a little while.

Thursday 24th - 7 hour drive back to Umeå.  We left the ice hotel around 10.00 and made it back by 5pm.  I was soooooo exhausted from driving and not really sleeping so well the night before, I fell asleep about 8 and woke up around 10 the next day, over 12 hours.  Haha, well I was finally rested up anyway!

Friday 25th - CHRISTMAS DAY!!  Pam and I back in the car again, but not as far.  We traveled down to Övik for fika with Sophia and her Övik friends.  And then to Christian Hjort's house for some lunch.  Came back to Umeå and continued with the tradition of dinner at the Hamre household...but no Julia this year.  Kerstin made a wonderful dinner and we spent the evening relaxing, laughing, and having a great time!!  Even talked to the family some while I was there!  Then the night was spent with Jonas and some friends just hanging out.

Saturday 26th - Annandagen  Pam and I made a Thanksgiving dinner for some of our Swedish friends.  Sophia, Ann, Jonas, Mattias, Josefine, Oscar, Simon...made 9 of us total, came over for dinner!  Pam and I spent most the day preparing the food, then finally in the evening we got to eat it.  Afterwards we went out to Invito.  Overall a great night...when we finally got in ;)


The classic pic!

Sunday-Wednesday 27-30th Christmas Basketball Camp - So now the past 3 days I have been coaching at our KFUM Christmas Basketball Camp with Pam and Tony.  We have about 30 boys and girls participating in the camp ages 12-15.  It's keeping me pretty busy 9am until 3.30pm.  It's pretty fun to see all these kids having a fun time at the camp!!  That's the best part!!

AND LASTLY!!!  THE BEST FOR LAST!!

I went to the doctor today and she said I can FINALLY practice again!!  So I'm back on the court and it feels great.  My hand is a little stiff and sore, but it gets better each day!!  So I have already participated in 2 practices and everything went okay so far!  I'm looking forward to tonight's practice as well!!  YIPEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!

WOAH that was a lot.  I gotta run now...I HOPE EVERYONE HAD A GREAT CHRISTMAS!!

KRAM!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0