Switzerland!!

FRIDAY

I arrived in Zurich at 12.30.  After getting lost in the airport for about 20 min, I finally found Sophia waiting for me!!  We drove about an hour to her house and relaxed a bit to prepare ourselves for the SVENSK JULFIKA (Swedish Christmas fika) that evening.  Mattias and Josefine came over for tacos before the rest of the swedish folk showed up.  After dinner, we prepared the swedish fika...including glögg, julmust, saphrine buns, gingerbread cookies, gingerbread cheesecake, chocolate chip cookies, knack (caramel) and GODIS!  Daniel, Linda, and Jens joined the crew.  So there I was, one american with the 6 swedes.  Anyway, it was a great evening and I really enjoyed the company!


Mattias, Josefine, Linda, Daniel, Jens and Sophia


Swedish fika!!  Yeah we ate all that!!

SATURDAY

On Saturday, Sophia and I traveled to Solothurn, an old village just outside, about 15 min away from where Sophia lived.  It was really pretty and right next to the Swiss Alps!!  We went to an old church built in 1763, talk about old, and hung out for a bit just staring at the inside!   Lot's of shopping there and cafes to fika.  Sophia and I enjoyed a nice fika after a walk through the city. 

St.-Ursen Kathedrale (1763)


   
 


  
Walking by the shops...



Taking a walk around the river...


What a view!



So beautiful with the mountains in the background...that's the church we were in earlier!

Me and my best!

FIKA with a glass of wine! :)
  
Gates to the city, anybody understand that sign, Switzerland represent!

Later that evening, Sophia made Vasterbotten paj and to enjoy with us was some more swedish folk.  Cissi and Linnea ate dinner with us and then we traveled to watch Mattias play his innebandy match.  They killed the team they played but it was really fun to watch Mattias play again, as well as Christoph and Mathias who are back with their old team.  Wiler clearly dominated them, but I still enjoyed it!! 


Mattias with Wiler!

Then after the match, it was party time at Sophia's house.  The place was packed with Swedish, Czech, and Swiss innebandy players.  Each country in a different room...haha!! Fun to see Patte and Alex again!  I think Sophia counted about 50 people at the party!  Now that's a lot!!  It was a great get-together and fun to see people who I haven't seen in awhile.




I wish I would of taken more pictures but I was so focused talking to people I forgot!

SUNDAY

Sophia's friend Björn came to pick us up to take us to a fotball match.  We went to a soccer match with 32,000 in the stadium.  I COULD NOT BELIEVE IT!!  It was sooooooooooooo much fun!!  I enjoyed it soo much and the atmosphere was great!!  Young boys vs. Basel was a top match in the league...two teams at the top of the league.  So the crowd was great....chanting and screaming the whole time!!  Thanks Bjorn for the tickets!!



Later that night, Sophia and I met up with Josefine at her house for some dinner and a movie.  Kebab pizza and Home Alone on tv...great night!  It was a fantastic weekend with some great company!!

THANKS SOPHIA FOR A WONDERFUL WEEKEND!!  I had so much fun and can't wait to come back!!

Well there it is!!!


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0