Basketball is Dying in Umeå...Who Could Write Such a Thing??

The criticism and insult of basketball in Umeå is ridiculous!  The media has no appreciation for us and it all comes down to one reason...we can't win a game.  We are a team that is already down and instead of helping to build us up, they continue to stomp us down.  The biggest question I have for the community of Umeå is when things start to get tough or something undesirable, why do we push them aside and treat them like nothing.  Nobody asks or even cares to explore why certain things are the way they are, instead they place judgement and are quick to state their bias opinion.  Not once have I been asked what is wrong or is there hope...instead we are categorized as a meaningless team that cannot amount to anything.

But I have something to say in all this and those that care, you will understand the best!  I cannot give a reason why we are not winning.  I cannot give an explanation why things are the way they are.  But I can tell you this...we have never gave-up and will never give-up.  After each game, we begin to re-evalute the new solution.  Most people in this community want us to just give-up and let the team crumble.  That is the most outrageous thing I have ever heard in my life.  How could you ask people who care so much for the sport, just to give it up.  Like it doesnt even matter.  I know people in this community are afraid of failure, but when something goes bad...YOU CAN'T JUST GIVE UP ON IT!  Give them faith, give them something to believe, give them the desire to want to fight...don't show them your backs.

The biggest thing is that the team cares!!  I care!!  Maybe people should examine that before they just insult us for sucking!  So easy to write your opinion when you never face the source.  Do you really know us??  Let me ask you that??  Because I would't trade my team for anything in the world!  We are good people that don't deserve this!!  I could understand if we were a team that didn't care and just gave-up all the time...but we are not that team!  And the most insulting thing of all of this...is that the media is taking something that we love so much, and downplaying it right in front of our faces.  Making our efforts seem like they are a joke and questioning our passion and dedication to the game.

So all I have to say now is that I will not be a victim to this criticism anymore.  I think it is absolutely the worst thing a person could do and it hurts!  But I'm not going to let this hurt me anymore.  I am going to do what I love and appreciate the most, and that is competiting in basketball.  And if the community feels we should back out just because we are losing, I say leave us alone.  Don't write such cruel things because you have no right!  We are going to fight to stay in the league and it's absolutely the most riduculous thing if someone thinks we are wasting our time.  I will never give-up and each new time is a promising time!!  Just remember that! ;)  Let us do what we feel passionately and those that have something negative to say, you can take it and shove it!  The best thing for our team right now is some faith and belief!!  And your actions and opinions are an insult to that.  It's crazy to me how quickly people can turn away from you when things arent going the best.  I call those people cowards!

My last remarks I have to say is don't take away something that means so much to me or us!  We practice everyday and perform to the best of our abilities everyday.  Don't take that away from us with your rude comments.  We need SUPPORT right now.  The remarks and opinions given will only drive people away.  There is SO MUCH potential out there and for the team, but negative critism only discourages people away.   Don't you want us to get to the best of our potential??!!  If you want some change, start to support us...that's the only thing I can say right now.  And it really insults me that the community doesn't have our back.  I play for Umeå because I appreciate it here...now if only I could get the same respect back!    And I WILL NEVER GIVE-UP ON THE TEAM!!!

Kommentarer
Postat av: Sophia

So glad that you wrote this and what you are thinking/feeling! And I also understand you. Have to say that I was one of thoose for a few years ago that didn´t know why Comets keept going.. But as you say, people don´t know you and don´t know what you are doing. But now I do and are so happy about that and you got my support! :D Kram!

2009-01-30 @ 16:24:56
URL: http://sophiamolin.blogg.se/
Postat av: Anna's brother Fredrik from IKSU

Amy you should send this text to the newspaper whose employee wrote that text about basketball and if they don't publish it send it to the other one =)



I don't really think people hate basketball here (or at least I hope not), they just prefer to go and se their same old floorball and soccer teams because they can't stand see their an Umeå team loose + they don't understand b-ball and because of that it's easy for them to critise it. Just see how little they care about Virtus when they are not in the top anymore.



I think u are a splendid role model for the basketball sport here in Sweden & Umeå. Keep fighting and I hope it will change at least some people's attitude.



PS. send and all of the deepest regards to Shannon from us guys in the IKSU team, she's such a sweet girl, hope everything works out 4 her...

2009-01-30 @ 23:43:33
Postat av: Amie

I am proud to call you a friend and proud of everything that you are. As Anna's brother said you are a splendid role model. Your heart and desire will take you far in the world and it is already making a difference across the globe. Keep fighting and do not ever lose hope. I understand what it is like to care for basketball so deeply - many people cant understand. Having your love questioned is never easy but we made it through Bruce and you can make it through this.

2009-02-03 @ 16:25:21
Postat av: Anonym

I am proud to call you a friend and proud of everything that you are. As Anna's brother said you are a splendid role model. Your heart and desire will take you far in the world and it is already making a difference across the globe. Keep fighting and do not ever lose hope. I understand what it is like to care for basketball so deeply - many people cant understand. Having your love questioned is never easy but we made it through Bruce and you can make it through this.

2009-02-03 @ 16:25:39
Postat av: Anonym

Not sure what happened but it posted twice! Sorry!

2009-02-03 @ 16:26:23

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0