Sweet 26!!

HELLO EVERYONE!!  So my travels continue and once again I am sitting here in the Arlanda airport about to depart for yet another trip!!  This time...TO OSLO...to visit Julia!!!  It's going to be so much fun!!!

Yesterday was my birthday!!  And thanks everyone for your birthday wishes!!  I think the older you get, birthdays become more as something that reminds you how many friends really do care about you.  It was great I thought and had no idea that I had that many friends that actually did care...haha!!  It was so nice and made me really happy!!   

My brithday was spent in Helsinki with my great family!  On Tuesday my family and I departed from Stockholm on the Silja Cruise line around 5.00pm.  For the first 3 hours of the boat ride it was SO BEAUTIFUL!!  We traveled up the coast a bit away from Sweden and got to experience the thousands of islands that make up the coast.  We were so close to the land it was crazy.  So amazing though.  On Tuesday I wasnt feeling the best.  I was pretty tired and I think I had the stomach flu.  So that night it was early to bed for me.  We woke up the next morning, MY BIRTHDAY, and were just a couple hours from embarking in Helsinki.  We went and ate breakfast and watched the scenary as we entered Finland.  We went into Helsinki around 10am and began our walking!  First on the stop was Lutheran Church and then we walked to the Church in the Rock.  From there, Monica and I parted ways with John and Joy and went on a walk ourselves.

I think Helsinki was really pretty, despite what I had heard from the Swedish folk.  It wasn't that cold just a little overcast.  NO rain which was great!  Monica and I walked and admired all the great buildings right in the centrum of Helsinki.  Very distinct and clean look I thought, Helsinki was just beautiful!!  Monica and I wanted a calm and relaxing day and thought a little fika adventure would be great (btw, my family loves fika).  We stoped a cafe along our walk.  We snacked on a pastry and coffee, avoided attacks by a crazy seagull and mainly people watched.  Then we adventured further down this park to fika again at Kappeli's.  A cafe located close to the water and in the park.  I very nice outdoor patio.  There we endulged in a glass of wine.  Then it was more walking for Monica and me.  We found a cute little restaurant in a nice building and sat and dined on lunch for a good 2 hours.  It was perfect.  We sat in our own soffas while eating sallad and sipping on wine and looking out enjoying a great view from above.  Our time was perfect in Helsinki!!  After a quick trip into Stockmans, we went back to the boat to prepare for the departure. 

We departed Helsinki while John, Joy, Monica and myslef sat at the back of the boat outside.  The sun was out shinning and the view was SPECTACULAR.  Breath taking!!  That's all I have to say...what a way to spend your birthday.  The night ended with the family taking me out to dinner at a really nice restaurant on the boat right next to the window.  The whole dinner we were able to stare out and enjoy the view!  The food was great, I took the peppar steak (very yummy), while the others dined on some Swedish cuisine (reindeer, witch fish).  Then for my brithday, the restaurant allowed me to go through the dessert line and take whatever I wanted.  I had a plate loaded with dessert.  Of course I shared, but I did eat a good portion of it!!  MY BIRTHDAY WAS PERFECT!!!  And I really have my family to thank for that!!  YOU GUYS ROCK!!

So this morning we arrived back in Stockholm and I took my seperate way from the family.  They are going South to Kalmar to spend the night and then spend 3 days in Copenhagen.  I went to the airport to now await my flight to Oslo and Julia!  I am really looking forward to it!! 



Let the travels continue!!

PS. I will have to post pictures later!! 


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0