3rd is Better Than 4th!

I am a devoted blogger, that's all I got to say.  The only thing I want to do right now is SLEEP because I am absolutely exhausted, but I will blog first!  Just got home from a 5 hour bus ride back from Östersund where we were this weekend.  We played ín the KFUM preseason tournament, a total of 4 games.  YES that is right...4 GAMES IN 3 DAYS!!  I can't believe my body survived it...I can't remember the last time I played two games in one day.  I do know I was much younger then, so maybe I don't remember the soreness (träningvark) as bad.  But the good news from this is...I feel like it prepared the team a bit better and I am getting into shape!  That's what these preseason tournaments are all about.

So there were 4 teams in our tournament: Sallen, Sundsvall and Marbo.  Friday night we played at 9pm vs. Sallen in a pretty surprising game for us.  We lost by 10 pts, but it was a much closer game than the score reflects.  We fought hard and it was good to see that type of spirit from such a young team.  We are a completely different team this year, but I think it's best for us.  Aisling met us Friday night, she flew into Östersund from Ireland just in time to play for the game.  It was great that she came because we played without Julia and Johanna this weekend due to sickness.  Two of our strong guards didn't even play this weekend, so I am looking forward to see how much stronger we are when they return.  Mila had a good game Friday night, I think she scored around 15 pts.  She is getting in the groove of everything and it's really nice for me to play with another tall post player!!  Anyway, Sallen is a pretty packed Swedish team with some great players...so I was happy with our effort.

Saturday was a bit different story.  We played Sundsvall early that morning and just played horrible.  No way of "sugar coating" that one.  We just didn't play good and they beat us pretty good, around 20 pts or so.  But the evening game was much better against Marbo.  We were ahead the entire game, up until the final 5 min of the 4th.  We were only playing with 7 players however and we straight up just got exhausted!  Plus we didn't have Aisling because she hurt herself earlier in the Sundsvall game.  We ended up losing again by 10 pts to Marbo.

So that put us in the tournament game for 3rd or 4th place this morning at 8 AM!  That's right, we played or game at 8 in the morning.  We played against Sundsvall for a well deserved re-match!  I know we were 0-3 going into it, but that didn't seem to matter for us.  We came out strong but the game remained close throughout.  In the second quarter I got elbowed pretty good in the nose (actually by my own player on her shot).  And my nose just started gushing blood all over the place.  I have never had my nose bleed like that before.  It was so bad I had to leave the court to the lockerroom and blood was just streaming down my face.  Julia came to help me out, but had to sit in the corner of the lockerroom because she was getting nauseas watching.  I started to spit blood and then Julia ended up throwing up because it was just too much blood (sorry I had to tell this story Julia).  Blood was everywhere, but finally I was able to clean it up...but unfortunately unable to stop the nose bleed.  It just kept bleeding.  So I went back up to the game and the score was tied.  I ended up sitting out almost the entire 2nd quarter.  At halftime I just stuck toliet paper up my nose so I could play.  Looked pretty funny, but I didnt care...I WANTED TO PLAY and win this game.  So I ended up playing the rest of the game with toliet paper shoved up my nose and I guess it worked!  We ended up winning the game by 7 pts!! 

GREAT!!  WE GOT OUR FIRST WIN!!  And that also meant we got 3rd place in the tournament!!  I ended up scoring 30 pts in the final game.  Chris, our assistant, told me that I scored our team's first 15 pts in the first 4 minutes of the game.  I am just so surprised because no way I thought my body was capable of that this morning...haha!!  But really the team stepped it up and everyone contributed to this win.  Carro was quite impressive this weekend, not once coming out for a substitution.  SHE WAS SOLID LIKE A ROCK!  And I am excited to see what we are like with a full squad.  Hopefully we will have that this coming weekend, when we play again in the Uman Cup here in Umeå!  Vi får se!!  Now I will leave you with some pictures of the weekend!


Friday night banquet with all the teams...they were all different ages in both mens and womens.  Which by the way, it was great seeing some men's basketball this weekend.  We don't get to see that much here in Umeå since we don't have a men's team in the highest league.  

 
Tony wishing those potatoes were lucky charms!

   
Da bus!........Mila!..............Emma and Mila sitting and chatting....Julia on the da bus!


The team hanging out, watching some basketball!!


THE COMETS!!!  OH yeah we got 3rd place!!  Check out the medals!!

Hope everyone had a great weekend!!

KRAMAR!!

Kommentarer
Postat av: annica

Good job :)

2009-09-06 @ 22:36:07
URL: http://nybomannica.blogg.se/
Postat av: Keith Devon

Great job. The Comets are really looking good this year. I look forward to seeing them play in Gammlia.

2009-09-06 @ 22:36:29
Postat av: kempan!

haha, Julia så roligt!

30 poäng är inte dåligt av dig,om jag säger så!

See you soon!!!

love

2009-09-07 @ 16:14:38
URL: http://mariakemi.blogg.se/

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0