A Technical Game

NOOOO, I'm not talking skill here....I'm talking technical fouls...4 of them in one game.  Things did not go the way we wanted them to on Wednesday vs. Brahe, which resulted in a 85-63 loss.  OJ?! What happened??  It was a game up until the 4th quarter.  We came out strong with the early lead, it stayed tight through out the entire 1st half, and we were down 5 pts at half-time.  Probably the biggest turning point was when the refs decided they would take more control of the game and begin blowing technical fouls on our team only.  Something I can say I have NEVER seen before in all my years of playing basketball.  All 4 technicals given without a single warning by the refs.  Not even a conversation from the refs, oh I could say so much about them right now and about how poorly everything was handled in my opinion, but I might get in trouble. 

Nevertheless, Brahe did execute a good game plan that left us frustrated and unable to produce offensive points.  They face fronted me and Pam and played a triangle zone on our other 3 other players.  They took us (Pam and me) out of the game  It was a physical match and our reactions got the best of us.  Coach Tony experienced that first-hand when he received back-to-back technicals, and he was ejected from the game.  Maybe the 1st technical was deserved, but the second one was a joke as he waved off the ref and he gave him a T for that.  (Imagine if that happened in America, oh wait, it never would).  That left us with NO coach on the bench because our assistant Chris did not make the trip. 

So for the second half of the game, we had no coach and I took that responsibility for the last minutes.  More technicals followed that...Pam pickd up a technical for clapping after call against her.  And then later our bench of 3 people picked up the fourth technical after telling the ref to wake up.  I went up to the ref to talk to him about it but he ran away from me.  Not very professional in my opinion.  So while they are shooting, I go over to him again and I tell him he just gave a technical foul to our bench with no coach and didn't even warn them ONE TIME.  He says he doesn't have to, I tell him his the professional here, not them.  What is the deal with refs not wanting to talk??  I'm the captain of the team and they still won't even talk to me.  They won't even have a discussion with me on anything, they are just so challenged or something if you question anything they do, they react so malicous.  Why are they so defensive??  I didn't even yell at them, I was just trying to talk.  And the worst thing about it, they didn't even let the two teams on the court battle it out.  Instead, they eject our coach and leave us to defend for ourselves.

Oh I could go on forever talking about this but I think I have said enough.  BUT one last thing...I do not think it's very fair that we get two refs that we have not seen all season.  One ref has done ONE of our games before, and the other never.  How is that fair??  They don't know how we play, and we don't know how they call things.  And I'm positive Brahe has had these refs more than once.  None of that seems very fair or justified to me. 

Now the team has grown from this experience and the only thing we can do now is move forward and continue to fight.  Clearly not many appear to be on our side, but we have to prove them wrong and perform in remaining games.  Our next game is Wednesday away vs. Järfalla who have the started the kval 0-2.  Then the followng week we are also away vs. Kvarnby in our second match-up.  Our last two games will be home.

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO now on a positive note...it's Easter weekend!!!  And HAPPY EASTER to everyone!!  Not much is planned here for me.  Maybe a dinner with the team, but nothing set in stone.  Today we have practice at 13.00 and then maybe some Easter activities later...like dying eggs and having an egg hunt!!  

And HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my Grandpa Blougher!!!!!! 

HAPPY EASTER...GLAD PÅSK

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0