Operation #2

SURPRISE...I went ahead and did my second operation today.  They took a sample of skin from my arm and transferred it over to the wound (sår) on my hand.  I believe they glued it together.  The only reason why I went ahead with the procedure was because my doctor PROMISED only 5 days away from basketball.  That's 5 days of not using my hand so the skin can heal successfully...I hope!  My hand is in a giant cast right now because my doctor wants to make sure I don't use my hand at all.  And trust me, I don't think I could if I tried.  But the operation went good and now I just pray it heals good and the problem fixed!  So 5 days sidelined again from playing, but the good news is I can still run and bike...so I'm going to do everything in my power to stay in shape.  Last game I felt like I finally was back in shape, so it would be bad if I lost that again.  So I have to work on keeping up my cardio.

The operation took about an hour and it was pretty simple.  I didn't have to be put to sleep or anything, they just numbed my entire arm so I couldn't feel anything.  Then it was an hour in recovery and by 12.00 I left the hospital.  My hand left in a giant cast and just a simple sample taken from my arm.  So now it's healing time!! 

Here is a picture of my hand the night before my operation...


All casted up...


This picture shows where my skin graph was taken from.


I can't wait for the day my hand is free of bandages!!

I have some other BAD NEWS.  My computer stopped working today.  It just wouldn't start and kept freezing when it booted up.  SO I took it into a computer shop and they said it might be the hard drive.  That sucks because then I might have to replace it and lose everything that was on my computer.  That might of been my problem also, too much on my computer.  It just sucks because you really do start to realize how much you depend on your computer when you live so far from home.  I'm a little more secure now here in Umeå and don't depend on my computer 100% like my first year...but it still sucks not to have your computer.  It's like my life!  It's definetly something I could not live without.  I hope they figure it out...but for now I'm loaning a computer from the club.

Well time for bed.  Just thought I would report on my hand.  I know I had mentioned this being a possibility earlier in a past post, but with the doctor's recommendation and the weekend off, this opted to be the best decision to go ahead with it. Let's hope it goes alright and heals!

Positive thoughts!!

Take care, KRAM


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0