Tough Loss

Last night we faced the top team in league, Telge.  They are a young team that are extremely athletic in every position.  They are also tough and physical and something we lacked a bit last night when it came to rebounding and defending the post play.  We did have moments of great play, and won 2 out of the 4 quarters, but it was our lack of scoring in the other quarters that really hurt us.  After the first quarter we even had a 1 pt lead 18-17 but Telge picked up their defense and we only scored 4 pts in the 2nd quarter.  In the third quarter we responded and scored 28 pts compared to their 24.  We cut the defiect to 10 pts until they scored a 3-pointer to end the quarter.  In the 4th quarter Telge widen the scoring gap a bit more and we ended up losing the game 57-73.  But I do not feel in anyway it was a 25 pt loss for us.  We played good against them and without a few relapse here and there, I think the score and outcome of the game would of been much different. 

My hand is getting better and better each day, but still not healed right.  I still have an open wound on my hand that still produces an orange clear fluid at times.  But the good news is that I can use less tape now and I only tape around my wound.  So it's nice to have some more freedom and I can actually move my wrist around.  I think it has made a little bit of difference when it comes to shooting, but you can tell it's still not natural to me to have this tape on my hand when I play.  Last night I scored 19 pts and had 12 rebounds.  I still missed a lot of buckets down low and that's sooooooooo frustrating to me that I didn't finish the shots down low.  I guess it will all come back with more "game-like" opportunitues and getting back into "game-time" shape!!  OH I can't wait for that.  I never want to have an injury in my life again (I wonder what the odds are for me on that one).

It was really nice to see Carro step it up last night on the offensive end.  I think that is something she is capable of every game if she puts her mind to it.  She opened up with 9 pts in the 1st quarter and 13 pts to end the match.  Pam had 17pts and really guided us in the 3rd quarter with a commanding response after half-time.  Julia stepped up her deffensive play and Gina played physical and ended up with 8pts.

Now this weekend we travel AWAY.  Actually the next two weekends are on the road.  We are to the point that WE MUST WIN SOME GAMES.  It now feels like FOREVER since the last time we won a game.  We need to get back to some winning habits!!  We have a crucial game on Saturday vs. Brahe and then Mark on Sunday.  That's only 3 days until our next game.  3 games in one week this week...something different than normal for us, but with the season ending at the end of February, I guess it's no surprise.  The following weekend we will have a 4 day away-trip playing Norrköping and Visby.  So not for another 3 weeks until we get to play home again :( 

Today we are OFF and my body is needing the rest for sure!!  Will be a calm day of chill'laxing I hope!!  Tomorrow I am back at the hospital for another check-up...but I'm sure it will carry on the same.

Good-bye for now!!

Ha det så bra!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0