Adoption Fundraiser!

So my last two days have been very busy.  My best friend Janey from HS and her husband Matt, have decided to adopt a third child.  It will be an african-american boy, mostly likely from Mississippi or Georgia.  They hope to have this little guy by January but have a lot of money to raise before then.  So Janey threw a massive garage sale, from many donations that people gave to her to sale.  So there was a huge amount of stuff, I couldn't believe it!  My job was to help organize all this stuff and then sell it.
We started Friday morning at 5.30 AM pulling everything out of the garage and setting it up on tables, laying it on the ground, organizing piles, etc.   Then the big sale took place.  Janey was selling everything from sofas, tvs, outdoor patio chairs, clothes, kitchen supplies, books, kid toys, baby things, and much more.  The first day was great with sales.  We counted the money, and after the first day...Janey and Matt made 1100 dollars!! But we did sell a lot of big things and we were busy all the way until about 2pm when we finally pulled everything back in.
Saturday we started it all up again.  This time a little bit later...we started pulling stuff out around 6.30am this time.  This was a much slower day.  Not many people passed by but we still got a little bit of a crowd here and there.  The big highlight was when Matt and I lifted the sofa-bed from down in the basement to outside to sell.  A little bit of excitement happened there...As we are carrying the sofa up, the bed came out on me.  I had to shove it back in while holding the sofa up.  It was pretty intense there for a moment.  HAHA, but we got the thing out....and finally got it sold by the end of the day.  The grand total for the garage sale was 1600 dollars.  But that also includes some generous donations from people that wanted to help with fundraising for the adoption.
So lots of work this weekend for me but it was all for a good cause and it was fun at the same time!  I'm happy I could be here to help!
Last night I met up with Amie and Jason Faust at a BBQ.  It was a little bit of a birthday celebration for those that are geminis.  I didnt know that, so it was fun that I also had a chance to celebrate my birthday as well.  4 more days until the big day for me.  Anyway, it was a early night since I was exhausted and now this morning I am preparing for my trip to go work basketball camps starting tomorrow in Denver.
Last day with Janey, Matt and the kids.  But ill be back!
I hope everyone had a great weekend!!
KRAMAR

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0