COMEBACK VICTORY!!





After more than 3 weeks of not playing, Friday night we faced our first competition of the kval vs. div. I team Kvarnby and were able to escape with a win 72-70!!  It wasn't easy.  Kvarnby had a solid performance against us and played very well.  They have one american guard who played at Georgia Tech and a 196 (6'4) german post player that were difficult to guard.  Okay, I can mainly talk about myself here...I could not stop the post player for most of the game and I struggled offensively big time with her guarding me.  I had one of the worst shooting performance of my life.  Nothing would fall for me and I kept settling for outside shots, and not attacking the basket which is more my game.  I was beyond frustrated during the game. 

But thank God I have my fellow teammates and ALL OF THEM, including coach Tony, told me I'm a better shooter than that and they believed I could do it.  And that's exactly what we did at the end of this game, everybody believed!!  In the 4th quarter with 5 min to go...the score stood 67-57 to Kvarnby.  We were down 10 pts and frustrations wore on our faces.  We had a quick team huddle on the floor, and Pam yelled to us that we all just need to drop our attitudes and PLAY.  And I stongly believe that was the turning point of the game.  We took the focus off each other, and begun to fight the team in green even harder. 

We got a stop on defense and Pam then converted a 3 pointer on the other end.  A few more stops on defense and more put backs on offense...brought us closer and closer.  Then down only 3 pts, their american point guard (also a strong defender), fouls out of the game on an offensive foul.  That put me on the FT line were I converted 1-2 FT's (I shot so horrible from the foul-line 5-10..sick). So only down 2 points.  Kvarnby runs a play, gets a shot, misses, gets the offensive rebound, and I foul the post on the shot with 1.06 left in the game.  But our amazing crowd did a great job yelling and distracting the shooter, she missed both her free-throws!!  We get the ball back only down 2 pts!!  Then we ran a motion spread so Pam could take her defender 1 on 1, she drew the double team and kicked it to me wide-open on the wing.  Now leading up to this I had shot 0-6 from the 3-point line (HORRIBLE).  I hadn't made a shot to save my life.  But without even thinking about that, I shoot the 3-pointer and it swishes in!!!!  I HIT A SHOT, FINALLY!!  And with 43 seconds left we gain one of our first leads of the game.  TIME-OUT on the floor.   

All we need is one more stop defensively and the game is ours!!  We came out of the time-out (when the picture up top was taken), and matched up defensively.  They ran a play, were unable to get what they wanted, and we get a quick steal and the ball back with about 30 seconds left.  They wait until 9 seconds left to foul Pam.  Pam shoots 2 FT's with 9 seconds left and converts 1-2.  So then we go up 2 pts, she misses the second...they are unable to take a time-out, and the time expires before they can even put up a shot attempt.  YESSSSSSSS!!!  We win!!  After a great comeback victory!!

So there is a pretty in-depth description of the last 5 minutes of our game.  It was exciting and I can remember a lot of it in my head.  Pam had a great game, scoring 27 pts and 8 rebounds I believe.  I some how ended up 22 pts and 11 rebounds.  Gina had 7 rebounds, Carro had 0 turnovers, it was a complete team effort overall!  Now there is a lot of things we can learn from this match.  We didn't play well at all, but we still got the win.  That's important.  We fought at the end and that's why we won!  We have to keep improving now, and learn from our mistakes and play better our next game vs. Brahe this Wednesday.  We have 3 games on the road now, so it's going to be tough, but nothing unattainable. 

Last night I stayed up to watch Fort Lewis in the National Tournament Finals.  They lost to Emporia State in a close game through-out...however, Emporia pulled it out in the end and extended the lead by 10 pts or so and won the National Title.  I'm so proud of the Lady Skyhawks and what they accomplished this year!!  It's something that will go down in the history books for sure!!  It really made me proud and feel great to be a Ft. Lewis Alumni!  Great job this year girls!!  It was kind of crazy how I watched the game, but I skyped with my dad and he put the computer's camera on the TV so I could watch that way.  Kind of crazy but cool, because then I could talk with my dad at the same time.  They played on ESPN 2 and so crazy seeing my former boss, Coach Kellogg, and girls I coached being broadcast nationally!!  So awesome.  Too bad they couldn't pull out the win, but getting there is quite an accomplishment!!


Watching Fort Lewis on skype with my dad!

Tonight will be my second dinner party!!  Frida, Ida, Gina, Pam and Carro are coming over to test my cooking yet again!!  Looking forward to a great night!!

Have a great weekend everyone!!

Life is so much better when you win!!!

KRAM

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0