Trip to Luleå

And now back to Umeå!  Julia and I spent the last 3 wonderful days in Luleå for a change of scenary and relaxing time.  Free from basketball and a great time spent with Julia and her mother at her place, in a calm environment that I enjoyed a lot!  Here is a little summary of the last few days...

Thursday Julia and I left Umeå after my speach at the rotaryklubb and drove in some wonderful, sunny weather!  Not much traffic and nice to have the weather on our side!  We arrived in Luleå early evening, and we went to grab a bite to eat.  Kebab pizza for both Julia and myself!!  Then we met up with Kerstin, hungout for a little, then Jules and I went to see Alice and Wonderland with Johnny Depp.  Really good movie I thought, and fun to see Johnny as always in a strange role.  But it's worth seeing if you are thinking about it.  Then we retired for the evening.

Friday Julia and I eventually made our way out of bed and met Kerstin for lunch at her work.  Then it was SHOPPING!!!  I think I did the most damage, but I definetly accomplished buying some things I have been wanting!  A new watch, pair of jeans, a spring scarf, and a couple of spring type shirts!!  I can't wait for spring, so I might as well prepare for it!  After a long day of shopping, Julia and I met Kerstin at Olivers for After Work and spoiled ourselves with some amazing food buffet style.  They even had chicken wings and egg rolls!!  I was in love.  Then it was Fridaymys, watching Let's Dance!

   

Saturday was a little more shopping in the morning and a walk through town.  Then we drove out to Johanna's sommar stuga (summer house) outside of Luleå for her birthday fika.  It was Julia, Kerstin, myself, and almost ALL of Jo's family.  The craziest thing though, and another thing to add to my list of adventures, was I drove on an ice road over the river to get the island where her family's stuga was.  So it is true, they do make roads of ice on frozen rivers...kind of scary but fun.  Then after we cross the river, a reindeer is standing in the middle of the road just starring at us.  It begins to run away, and we notived two heards of reindeers it runs to.  Reindeer everywhere around us!  FUN!  Well we finally made it to Johanna's stuga and a great time with her family.  They grilled home-made hamburgers on the grill (which reminds me so much of summer), had a little snowmobile adventure on the river, and good conversations (mainly swedish) with good company!  HAPPY BIRTHDAY JOHANNA!


Me driving on the ice road!!  scary


Reindeer in the road!

  

1. Johanna's younger sister Märta...my new best friend.
2. Johanna taking us for a ride on the snowmobile!
3. Märta enjoying her ride!

So that then brings us to today, Sunday.  We left Luleå around 12.30 after a slow morning of eating breakfast and watching morning tv.  Said our goodbyes to Kerstin and drove back to Umeå on another clear, skyblue day.  When we got back to Umeå, it was straight to our practice game vs. Jämtland's div 2 team.  We won by 50 pts or so I think?  A game everyone got to play in.  So now I'm home preparing myself for a solid week of upcoming practices!  Time for bed after getting all caught up in some things. 

THANKS JULIA FOR A GREAT WEEKEND!!!  And inviting me to accompany you and your mom!!  I had a great time!!





Well I hope everyone had a great weekend!!

KRAM


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0