Spain Trip

SO FINALLY I have some time to blog!!  It has been two weeks since my Spain trip and I am just now getting around to posting some pictures and telling about my trip!!  Things have been really busy ever since my trip.  Today is the first day that I have had some time to myself and not running around like a crazy person.  I got back home from Stockholm early afternoon and spent the day relaxing and resting.  Tomorrow will begin the packing and moving of all my things before I take off for America on Tuesday.  But now...let's go back in time a bit, and I will tell you about my trip to Spain.

Day 1...I arrived to Barcelona in the evening.  I met up with Courtney and Dan at the hotel around 8pm or so.  I dropped my stuff off and then we walked to a local bar for some tapas and sangria.  I had no idea at this time that it was going to be the theme of our trip (haha..tapas and sangria).  We got the potatoes bravas and fried calamari, which was delicious!!  The best part, however, about this time was seeing Courtney again.  It had been over a year and a half since the last time I saw her.  So lots of catching up to do!  It was also my first time meeting her boyfriend Dan and we spent most the night getting to know each other and socializing.  Went to bed pretty early that night.

Day 2...We made our way to the city of Barcelona.  Our hotel was a little outside of the main city, so we trained in, dropped our bags off at the lockers in the train station, and began our explorations.  First stop on the list was the Picaso Museum.  Then to the Ramblas, an amazing market, the pier, and a couple tapas restuarants.  The pictures describe the day best!


Starting the day off with a pitcher of Sangria!


Walking through the streets of Barcelona.  The buildings were very close to each other and check out how people just hang-up their laundry.  That would really suck if they dropped it :P

   
Some more scenary of Barcelona just walking around.  It was very sunny and the building were beautiful!


A famous painting by Picaso....in his early days!  Courtney got in trouble for taking this picture...haha!


Standing at the beginning of the Ramblas.  The Ramblas is an outdoor walk-way filled with restuarants and shops.  Lots of tourist attractions as well.  We did a little shopping around here also.


First thing we had to do walking on the Ramblas was order the giant sangria cups!!

   
The straws were even crazy!  Dan bought Courtney a rose...how sweet!


One of the coolest things I thought on the Ramblas were all the statue people.  This guy I thought was the best, Edward Scissors Hands.  If you paid them a little change, they would put on a little skit for you and allow you to take a picture with them.  We found this very entertaining and spent a lot of time just watching all the different statues!!


Some were more extreme than others...here is a fruit market guy!

  

  
There were many other great ones.  Including a cowboy, a gold man, aileen, a man on the move, and a guy sitting on a toliet.  They were all done great!


Next stop we visited a local market that I thought was sooooooo amazing.  There was soooo much food inside this tent and I thought all the food looked great. The fruit was so colorful!!

  
Entering the market, legs of cow I think, and ICE CREAM!!  The ice cream tasted unbelievable!

After a bunch of walking around, we thought we would sit down and relax for awhile so we found a great little tapas restaurant just outside the market.  It turned out to be one of our favorite places on the trip!  The tapas were so delicious and made so fantastically.  We were amazed by all of them.  We ended up spending almost 2 hours at this restaurant.  We watched a lot of tapas come in and out!!  I can't believe all the different kinds there were.

  
Here is the bar with all the different tapas plates on top.  The middle pic is a tapa with bread, toped with seasoned chicken and topped with a chile pepper.  One of the best ones I tried...I tried a bunch!!  I couldn't get enough.


After the tapas restaurant we made our way down to the beach of Barcelona. 

  
We took a nice little walk along the pier and checked out some great scenary!


On the walk!

After the walk along the coast, we made our way to the train station.  We picked up our bags and jumped on the train to our next destination...Taragonna.  It was about an hour long train ride.  We arrived in Tarragona in the evening and found a taxi to take us to our hotel.  We tell him the hotel name and he has never heard of it.  I try to find the address in my bag...but surprise, surprise...I have lost the paper.  So we have no idea what to do??  So we ask our taxi driver to take us to another hotel so we can ask them.  We find out at another hotel, that the hotel we are staying at is 20 miles south of Tarragona in a city called Costa Dorado.  So that kind of threw us for a loop.  But we eventually get to our hotel and it's later than we expected to get in.  We retire for the evening and decide we will check out more to the town the next day.

DAY 3.....We sleep in, wonder down to breakfast, enjoy a tasty meal, and walk outside to the beach.  Our hotel literally sits right on the beach!  The weather is nice, the sun is shinning, and we walk along the coast.


The beach by our hotel.

   
Walking along the coast.  We found a spot with a little rock bryg.  It was just so relaxing and calm!


Looking over at the beach and Costa Dorado in the background!  Not a bad view at all!


The view from our hotel room.  We had a balcony that we could go out on.  The ocean looked so green and blue.

So we decide that we will go to the local grocery store in town and pick up some snacks and wine for the beach.  We made a plan that we would spend most the day on the beach!  So that is exactly what we did!

   
Haha, so we end up buying 6 bottles of wine for our 4 day stay in Costa Dorado.  The wine was so cheap, only 2-3 euros a bottle.  And it tasted great.  SOOOO finally to me, my vacation begins sitting out on the beach, eating snacks and drinking some wine. 

In the evening we keep ourselves entertained by playing ping-pong!!  Courtney dominated us the first night, but each night, Dan and I were able to improve!!  It made for great entertainment!!

   
The first night we ate at our hotels restaurant, which later in the trip we realized was the worse place of the whole trip.  I ate a whole calamari head, even with its eyes.  It tasted pretty crunchy.  Courtney ordered a pizza and it came out with hotdog slices on it.  The food didn't really settle to well with us that night.  The next couple of nights, we went into the city and ate at some great local restuarants.

DAY #4....I generally woke up earlier than Dan and Courtney in the mornings.  So I would sit at the breakfast table enjoying the great view and reading the 1st Steig Larsson book (which I completed on this trip) until eventually they would join me.


The breakfast consisted of sandwiches, yogurt, fruit, a potatoe quiche and the most amazing chocolate pastry!!  And of course...COFFEE...cafe con leche (actually)!  Not a bad view though!


Then it was back at the beach!  Courtney and Dan played a little out-door tennis while I read my book and laid in the sand.  It was even more hot the second day at Costa Dorado, and we spent more time in the sun that day!

  
Since it was little bit warmer this day...we made it to the water more.  Dan, however, was the only one that dove into the water.


Sisterly love!!

Goofing around with my sista!

That night we went to local bar to watch Barcelona play.  Courtney and Dan went to a Barcelona game the night before I got there to Spain, so Courtney was able to buy some Barcelona gear and ready to support them.  I won't forget when we walked through a group of kids, and half of them began to yell at us for being Barco fans while the rest cheered for us.  It was kind of intimadating.  But a fun experience I suppose.  We went and watched one half at one bar, and the second half at another bar.  It was quite the experience watching Spanish fotbal in Spain.  People yelling and cheering and even dancing.  One thing I did not enjoy was all the smoke. 


Courtney and her gear!! 

DAY 5...Day 5 was a sad day for me.  It was the day I dumped an entire bottle of water all over my digital camera.  I was early in the day and I went outside to sit in the sun and read more of my book when I noticed my purse starting to drip with water.  I quickly grabbed all my stuff out, but I was too late and unable to save my camera.  I shook it a bit and water just dripped out of it.  SAD DAY.

We didn't really do much this day.  There was a little overcast that day, I believe it even rained a litte.  I went on a fairly long walk, while Dan and Courtney took a siesta.  Not very much went on that day. 

DAY 6....We woke up fairly early and traveled back to Barcelona.  We spent 4 nights at Costa Dorado and decided to spend the last day in Barcelona.  Our flight left the next day, so we thought it would be wise to be closer.  We took the hour train back and found our hotel very easy this time!!  (Thank goodness)!  It was the best weather of the whole trip on this day and it was HOT.  I spent most the day in the hotel's garden sun-tanning.  We stayed at a very nice hotel in the very nice part of Barcelona.  Later on that day, we took a walk down the road to check out some shopping and look at some cool buildings!!


Pretty interesting building...it was soooo green!!  Me and Courtney walking by it checking it out.  /pic from Courtney's camera.

DAY 7....Our flight left around 2pm that day.  SO we were able to sleep in a litte, enjoy a spectacular 5-star breakfast at the hotel!!  That was one great thing about this trip...the food was great!!  I enjoyed almost everything!  But all the hotel breakfast were perfect (I sound swedish).  

We took a taxi to the airport and everything went smoothly...UNTIL we got on the flight.  The trip back did not go as smoothly.  Our first flight was one hour delayed.  We had a connection flight in Milan and we only had an hour lay-over.  So we knew it was going to be close when we landed to making that flight to Stockholm.  We were able to land before our 2nd flight took off, but unfortunately, the airline didn't think we were going to make it...so they re-booked us on another flight to Frankfurt and then to Stockholm.  SUCK...we were there in time but they wouldn't let us on.  So instead of getting in to Stockholm at 8pm, we were going to get in at midnight.  That means I was going to miss the last flight to Umeå.  And also a night in the airport at Stockholm.  Well I think I have blogged about this already...

DAY 8....I arrived back to Umeå around 9.00 am!!  FINALLY!!

But what a great trip I had.  It was a lot of fun and I was happy to be able to spend time with Courtney and Dan!!

Well that wraps it up!  More to come on this past week with the family.  Kyle and Kelsey are on their way back to America now and Dan and Courtney head out tomorrow! 

ADIOS!!

Kommentarer
Postat av: J

wonderful!

2010-05-23 @ 01:09:26

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0