Games, Games, Games

So the last 3 days we have played a total of 4 games.  It's been busy and some good action for us!!  This past weekend we played in the Uman Cup and only played against div. II teams.  Our first match on Saturday was against KFUM Sundsvall, a div. II team with about 4-5 former players from the damligan team the Saints.  So they were not going to be the "typical" div. II competition.  But we played a good game and won by 20 pts, 88-68.  For me this game was a little difficult and it took awhile for me to get into the swing of the game.  Coming off the plane Wednesday, there was doubt about it that jet-leg still lingered in my legs.  I ended the game with 11 pts, but who knows what it could of been after ALL the missed lay-ups I had.  Mackey played well with 20pts, Ida had 15 and Johanna shot 100% from the 3pt line for 12 points.  As a team we shot 50% from the 3pt line and 60% from the field.

Our next game was against IKSU.  We won that game 93-38 and I finally felt like I was getting back the feeling of the game.  I didn't play that much minutes but I still ended up with 19pts.  Henna had a great match (not fouling out in the first half) and ended with 17pts, and Janette had 14.  But was nice about that game was everyone was able to score and a solid team effort!

Saturday night we went over to Julia's for her birthday fika with the team.  We had a special guest...Shannon Daily.  A former Umeå Comet and roommate.  She lives in Sundsvall now and was playing with the team we played earlier.  It was fun to have another American in the mix and man, I sure do miss that girl and her amazing humor!!  It was a great night spent with the team, and my favorite was of course JULIA'S APPLE PIE!!

Sunday we played one game against KFUM Jämtland and won 38-100.  And yes we broke 100!  This game we really pushed ourselves to fast break and to get lay-ups off the break.  We really wanted to focus on transition and scoring on the break.  I think we did a good job of that!  Once again, everybody on the team was able to score!  I ended up with 19 pts, Henna had 17, Johanna had 17 and shot 100% again from the 3pt line, Mackey had 14 pts and Ida had 11, which concluded the 5 people in double digit scoring.  It was a great weekend for us, but with fairly easy competition.

So yesterday concluded our 4 game series.  We traveled up to Luleå to play their damligan team and let me tell you...what a WAKE UP call we had there.  After a successful weekend and solid performances by many, Luleå gave us a run for our money.  They didn't even compare to what we played against before.  Luleå is a very strong, physical and solid team.  Their team has been playing together all summer and most of them have been together for the last 3 years, and have some veteran players.  We, on the other hand, have not had that privilege and especially with me just getting here on Wednesday, our weaknesses were exposed.  Maybe we were fatigue and tired, I don't know??  But I do know that they are not 45 pts better than us.  We ended up losing the game 38-83.  We looked scared when we had the ball and instead of fighting back and showing some pride, we kind of back downed and didn't respond.  Well the important thing from this game is that we can really learn some things!!  And now we know that we have to come together and fight even harder in games like this.  Especially against teams like this.  So there is no doubt in my mind that we will do better next time we face Luleå.  We have to!!

We got home late last night around 12.30.  All my body wanted to do was SLEEP.  I slept in to 11.30 and if it wasnt for Mackey texting me, I probably would of slept in past lunch.  But now I finally feel more rested and once my legs feel a bit lighter, I'll be good to go!!  I'm just now starting to feel like I am getting back into the swing of things again!  This weekend we will be off from basketball, then the following weekend we will open up our season against 08.  Then season will be in full swing!

Today I finished up some final touches on my apartment.  It's starting to look like a real home to me!!  So that makes me feel better!!  Just a couple more things and then I am satisfied with it!  Soon I will post some pictures so you guys can check it out!!  Tomorrow I get to hangout with Maria and see little Oliver...looking forward to that.  Well good night for now...stay tuned...

God natt
Sov gott
 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0